Importance of Quality Management System

When an organization follows a standard, it shows that it can consistently deliver real transaction services that meet customer needs and regulatory requirements. ISO 9000 is a series of rules issued by the ISO (International Organization for Standardization) describing best practices in quality management. The standards cover all aspects of the organization, including facilities, staff, training, services, and equipment.

  1. ISO 9001 training is the best known ISO standard and defines several quality management principles that must be met. ISO certification pertains to the transcription of the standard that is met, represented by the calendar year in which it was introduced. The organization that develops the standards and certifies companies and organizations.
  2. ISO 9001 belongs to a family of standards related to quality management systems in which organizations must demonstrate that they consistently offer a product that meets the highest standards for quality, safety, reliability, and quality assurance of their products and services. This standard is used by large and small organizations and is the only standard in the family that can certify the quality of its products, services, and processes, although this is not a requirement.
  3. ISO 9001-2008 is the latest standard and a document that outlines the requirements an organization must place on its quality system.
  4. The ISO 9001 standard provides a quality management system that improves your organization’s ability to provide the highest quality of products and services, efficiency, and cost standards – effectiveness for your customers.


ISO 9001 is a worldwide industry standard that sets the requirements for a quality management system (QMS) to help your organization improve efficiency and customer satisfaction. It is used by millions of organizations worldwide in industries of all sizes. You can use the ISO 9001 audit checklist as a starting point for planning your certification process.


The Framework

  • Provides documented procedures
  • Declared quality guidelines
  • Series of procedures for monitoring
  • Verifying its certification


It builds a structure within which companies can focus on meeting the needs of their customers, fulfilling what they are promised, and improving the overall quality of products and services.

In short, they are principles-based international standards that describe quality management systems that companies can use to be more effective and improve customer service. ISO 9001 is a standard that can be certified and defines the requirements that a company must meet to achieve a “quality management system” within its organization

The goal of the ISO 9000 family of standards is to give organizations with the supervision and instruments needed to guarantee that their products and services meet external specifications and drive consistent quality developments. Norm 9001 is a document describing the requirements required to establish and maintain quality standards per ISO-9001.

Tasha Boyd